The Ute Dictionary was made possible by the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe and the contributions of numerous language consultants, advisors, linguists, and technical staff from across Colorado, Utah, Ute Country, and what is today the United States. We are proud to acknowledge each contribution. Collectively, the following people have created a volume that will help preserve the beautiful Ute language for future generations.

We are grateful to the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe and the Tribal Council: Chairman Manuel Heart, Vice Chair Selwyn Whiteskunk, Treasurer Alston Turtle, Secretary Archie House Jr., Councilman Darwin Whiteman Jr., Councilman Lyndreth Wall, and White Mesa Representative Malcolm Lehi. We would also like to give special thanks to Ute Mountain Ute Project Coordinator Juanita Plentyholes and Assistant Coordinator Antoinette Tapoof-Porambo. This project would not have been possible without their dedication.

We are extremely grateful to the many speakers who have contributed their voices and their knowledge to the dictionary over the past two years, including Jane Lehi, Helen Munoz, LaVerna Summa, Alfred Wall, Jr., Floyd Morris, Helena Morris, Loretta Posey, Imogene D. Pelt, Emily Whiteman, Vera Summa, Lena Summa, Alfreda Wall, Betty Howe, Doris Heart, Gloria Tom, Veronica J. Keelick, Lorraine House, Althena House, Doyljean Lehi, Angela L. Badback, Coleen Cuthair-Root, David Root, Bonnie Colorow, and Terry Knight.

We would also like to thank the staff at The Language Conservancy, in particular, the dictionary editors Dirk Elzinga, Eric Adell, Jonah Wolf, Jeremiah Aviel, Evan Chapple, and Abbie Hantgan-Sonko. We are also grateful for the work of Wilhelm Meya, Heike Meya, Dorothea Hoffmann, Adelaide Petrov-Yoo, and Bob Rugh; Event Coordinators Katie Norman, Brianna Hughes, and Samantha Hintz; Technical Directors Elliot Thornton, Logan Swango, and Sam Gerhart; Graphic Designers Bruce Morgan and Tommy DeNardo; Intern Coordinator Ali O’Neil; and Linguistic Interns Allan Bradshaw, Cassandra Caragine, Jennifer Cox, Mikhael Hayes, and Albert Ventayol.

Additional contributors to the Rapid Word Collection process were Steve Echerd of SIL, Record Keeper Kim Bebe-Wells, and scribes Marianna Di Paolo, Willem De Reuse, Dorothea Hoffmann, Emily Leggitt, Brady Dailey, Carolyn MacKay, Carlos Cisnero, Gabriel Gilbert, Midori Raymond, and Coleton Hast.